All Things Must Come to an End

This weekend is the official 1 year anniversary of my spiritual breakdown that eventually lead me to become an atheist. My, what a year it has been.  I remember the sorrow and the panic of coming to realization that God wasn’t listening to my prayers.  The pain still haunts me, and even inspires me to occasionally pray.  But I have turned a corner now.  Not just turned away from God, but turned to my new life.  My job start date has been postponed a week, but still, everything is better and different.  I’m healthier and happier, and I’m moving on with my life.

Which brings me to talk about us.

As I mentioned in today’s earlier post, I think it’ll soon be time to retire John Jameson and Pastor No Faith.  I created John Jameson because I was so depressed, I literally wanted to crawl into a bottle of Jameson and drink myself numb.  PNF came from needing a clever twitter handle that would communicate who I am.  Originally I was hoping to join the legion of anon Christian twitter accounts as an outside/inside voice.  But instead I got picked up by the atheists/humanists, which has been awesome.

Soon, however, I will not need these aliases.  Soon I will be me, in public, with my name and picture attached.  The truth is, I’m not sure I have that much more to write on this blog.  This blog was about my journey, and this portion of the journey is 7 days away from ending (assuming all goes well with my new job).  I think this blog has run it’s course.  Instead of doing what most TV shows do, I’m not going to run this on and on forever.  It will soon be time to say goodbye to this blog.

Now, I’m totally going to keep writing and blogging.  I’m actually setting up equipment for vlogging.  I’ll be coming out publicly to my community on camera.  I’ll be explaining why I left the ministry and why I don’t believe anymore.  I’m hoping to run a Q/A format, where I answer one question per vlog.  If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, I’ll be tackling the FAQs.  If you’ve followed my story, then you’ll have a chance to actually see first hand how people handle the news.  I’m sure some people will surprise me with how well they understand and others with how little they care.

Once PNF is put out to pasture, I’ll be focusing my energy on my new website http://www.accidentalatheist.com

You can also follow me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/accidentalatheist

I am also now the main contributor for The Clergy Project’s Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/theclergyproject

I’m not sure what to do with my Twitter account.  I’ll have to think about that one.

Patrons will of course get first look at all my upcoming videos, and I’ll be mining my patrons for feedback.  www.patreon.com/pnf

Since my start date with my job has been (frustratingly) pushed back a week, I’m going to use this next week to get those videos rolling.  I hope to have 2 videos by Friday!  They’ll be uploaded to patreon first and then I’ll put them up on Accidental Atheist.

I still have a few posts left to do on this site, so it’s not over yet.  At the end of PNF, I’ll invite all of you to find me and friend me on Facebook.  I really want to stay in touch with all of you.  You have been so kind and I am so very grateful.

This post has purposely been made public.

7 thoughts on “All Things Must Come to an End

  1. For once, there’s an internet thing that I won’t be sad to see go. Of course, this isn’t so much of an end as it is a transition. It has been one hell of a rollercoaster, but I’m glad things have turned out for the better for you. And I know I’ll keep watching and listening as long as you’ve got more to say.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I just liked your Facebook page and felt a moment of panic over someone seeing it in their ticker. Not the first time, of course. I’m starting to think I need to come out publicly just so I can like more pages and posts. It’s as good a reason as any, I guess 🙂 I look forward to seeing what you have planned for the future!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a journey it has been. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    Just one subtle suggestion that can be potentially huge in how you move forward with this. On your new website/Facebook, you asked for suggestions on your design. If you want one of your audiences to be Christians who can see your point of view and be interested in hearing out your experiences, and eventually allow them to re-examine their faith and ultimately change their lives for the better (like myself)–having a black/red theme (in your Facebook profile picture, as well as your website banner) is a little off-putting at first glance.

    I liked how you shared the “Yes I’m an atheist . . . I believe in compassion, love, kindness, myself.” picture on Facebook. As an ex-Christian, you still have those values because they came from within yourself, not God. Thus, perhaps the design of your website could be more welcoming (with white and blue tones, if not more neutral).

    Suggestions for a profile picture on your Facebook page: a professional level/DSLR quality picture of your face (when you eventually come out publicly). A person to attribute ideas to is what appeals to others, instead of just another random online atheist blogger or group. You and your experiences are unique, you should own it!

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Re: twitter: you can change the name & title & keep all your contacts. Even if you don’t tweet regularly you can still announce when blogs are posted. I think that can even be automated.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment