A Case for Patreon

So after listening to many of your suggestions, I have set up a Patreon account and would love it if you supported me.

http://www.patreon.com/pnf

What I’m hoping to do with Patreon is use it as a savings account created and funded by my readers.  I will not touch the Patreon money until I quit/lose my job.  Here’s what I’m asking of you:

  • I have 150 “visitors” to my blog a day, for several days, every time I make a new posts
  • If half of that number of people would donate $1 per week ($4 per month) that would provide my family with a $300 per month cushion
  • If we could increase that by $0.25 per week ($5 per month) that would be $375 per month

Now I’m obviously not going to make a living on that, but that’s not chump change.  $300-$375 extra a month would stretch a long way in my home, and to you I would be forever grateful.

Here’s the big ask: Can you spare $1 a week to help my family?  And if you are feeling extra generous, could you throw in the extra quarter for $1.25 a week?

Thank you for all your support through these past months.

PNF

13 thoughts on “A Case for Patreon

  1. Are you planning on resharing or making new content for Patreon backers? I have no problem sharing the link around publically, but I know you’re needing to lock down the security, so I don’t want to openly share the password to see your posts. Without access to your writing, it’s kind of a hard sell. If there’s going to be content distributed through the Patreon, however, then there’s something that can be marketed.

    Like

  2. Supposedly Patreon is working on a way to make a one-time donation. That would work better for me. As a closeted skeptic with a non-skeptical and sole breadwinning husband, I’d have a tough time explaining a monthly “subscription.” However, a one-time credit card charge would raise no red flags at all. A girl’s gotta shop 🙂

    Like

  3. The password isnt working for the “slowly” post immediately before this one. (I can see all other protected posts with the password provided previously.)

    Intentional or typo or am I just special?

    Thanks. (I want to read it!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

