Crowd Funding vs. Patreon

So lots of you guys have commented that you’d kick in for crowd funding to help me out in a bind.  But someone mentioned Patreon, a subscription service where you essentially pay me to write.

I’ve been thinking about that.

You have mentioned that I’m a good writer.  While I appreciate your charity, I would feel better as a person if you were giving me money to actually do a job.  So not only would you be helping me, but you’d be getting something in return.  Be honest with me here, which do you think I should do?

1) Should I wait until I absolutely need money and ask for a 1 time gift?

2) Should I start a Patreon account and solicit monthly subscriptions to take on writing as a part-time job?

I’m asking your opinion on what you think would work best for me AND which would you prefer to give to if you choose to give at all.

Please, brutal honesty only!  I won’t judge you or hate you for your response, no matter what it is.

15 thoughts on “Crowd Funding vs. Patreon

  1. My two cents, which is not always the consensus, is a one time small subscription fee as well as a kick starter to hedge your bets.

    Another idea is to put out a weekly podcast on iTunes and YouTube that with enough subscribers could be monetized with ads.

    All the while compiling your writing into an eventual ebook.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Check out Jaclyn Glenn’s Patreon page – I think you’ll enjoy it. https://www.patreon.com/Jaclyn?ty=h Either seems fair to me. Honestly, both. If you need a one time gift, ask. But you can do the Patreon account too. There’s nothing wrong with asking for help when you need it. The trick is that now it’s harder because you have to ask people instead of God…

    Liked by 1 person

    • But the good thing is people will respond … whereas God, not so much. Except, of course, for those that want to believe God replied THROUGH all the people … even though people having Free Will is a necessary part of Christianity. Anyway …

      I can’t spare much, but I’d give it as a gift OR to pay you to write. Whatever you need/want.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I like the idea of compensated writing. This is sort of how entrepreneurism happens… the familiar doesn’t work out, & people have to take a chance on doing something new — which leads to their making their unique contribution to the world.

    Check out Bart Ehrman’s blog, that he writes to raise $ for charities http://ehrmanblog.org/a-milestone-on-the-blog/ I pay about $8/quarter for the “members” part and I like subscribing because I learn a lot, get to chime in with questions or comments if I want to, and like where the $ is going.

    If you were being paid, you might be even more intentional with your creativity and atheology : ) — sort of a kickstart to the writing you’ve said you’ve thought about doing some day….

    The major questions for me would be how secure the payment mechanism is (Bart uses paypal, which I’m a little squeamish about but hope for the best) and how affordable for the long haul….

    At a turning point in my life, I remembered a talk I’d heard 20 years earlier about Moses, when he felt at a loss facing the task ahead. God asked him, “What is that in your hand?” (the rod, etc) and the speaker took off from there, pretty powerful, about becoming aware of what your resources are. I did that and ended up spearheading a multidisciplinary task force to develop a groundbreaking program for long-term care. Turned out it wasn’t a money-maker, but did get published and praised for usefulness and somehow we survived anyhow. Wishing you well in all these tough days!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the idea of Patreon. It makes those of us that would subscribe feel that we’re getting something tangible for our money, and it makes you feel that you’re doing something tangible for the money.

    I did like Carolyn’s suggestion above as well. I know that right now you’re still in the atheist closet, but when/if you decide to break out, a Podcast or Youtube channel would be a great option. I would be more willing to pay for audio/video type contributions than I am to pay for written articles. Plus, while I do think that you’re a good writer, a Podacst or YouTube would play well with the speaking abilities you must have developed over years of speaking as a pastor. Plus, if you do decide to YouTube, you can monetize both through Patreon and through standard YouTube advertising. Seems like a win/win to me.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Are you ready to make a serious, job like commitment, to writing? Both short and long term?

    Personally, I think there are so many blogs out there trying to monetize that lose their “genuineness” once they are forced to write because it becomes a job. Yours has been different, which has been appealing. If nothing noteworthy happens for a few days, you don’t write. Once you’re paid, you feel force to start making up shit to meet a quote.

    I would vote for putting a donate via paypal button on the page and leave it at that. If someone donates, they do so with no strings attached.

    Just my 2 cents.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree and disagree at the same time. I agree that once writing becomes a job, it can lose that sine qua non that made the blog interesting to begin with. Plus, there are just so many ways you can write about “I was a pastor and now I am an atheist”.

      What makes this blog unique is that we rarely get to experience a blow by blow of the transition as it happens.

      I honestly don’t see blogging as being able to replace a steady job that until now provided for a family, benefits, etc.

      it can be extra money, but that’s about it.

      As to what to use, I would use both patreon and a Paypal button. One doesn’t exclude the other. SOme people may want to donate in exchange of a specific post they found intriguing, others may prefer to finance the writer’s work on a monthly basis.

      Like

  6. I currently subscribe to a couple of good writers, who produce interesting essays on a fixed time schedule. I’ve also participated in crowdsource funding for a book author. He presented it with a clear plan of action, a few incentives for larger donations (he’s a bookbinder and restorer by trade, so he could offer specially-bound versions), a timeline, and he posts frequent updates as to how the work is going. This assures that I will participate in the funding for the next book. 🙂 But it also keeps him on schedule. So those are some options.

    But if you need a burst of help, go ahead and ask for it. You’re trying to scale a boulder-covered peak in screaming winds here; asking for help with a walking-stick is perfectly reasonable. Try not to feel guilty about it. I like the Texas Hold ‘Em analogy; right now you’re playing with a bad hand, and you need to make the community cards work for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Being as I am incredibly crap at most things, I can’t donate via an online service until I go and sort out my bank account. So the option to just send you some money via post would be handy too. That’s how I sent some money to another blogger who I wanted to support. You might not want to make it public or you might have a PO box that can be used, either way, I want to be able to help out too, so whatever decision it is that you go with, just being able to send you money that way would be a BIG help! (FYI, I only ever send money in the currency of the recipient’s choice, using insured, track ‘n trace, signed for, recorded delivery so there’s no worry about it going awol in case you’re wondering. When you decide how you’re going to do this, drop me a line via email or Twitter and we’ll sort out how to get my contribution out there. Much love x

    Like

  8. I’d say, why not both? Using Patreon would give you a steady trickle, while a crowdfunding campaign (with it’s one-off nature and built-in sense of urgency) would give you a lump-sum to carry you through the rough patch. Throw in a PayPal donate button for people who want to make one-time donations but miss the crowdfunding campaign, and you’ve got all your bases covered. (For instance, I don’t know if I could commit to a subscription right now, but I’d be happy to kick a couple of bucks your way now and then when I have it to spare.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

