Divorce (Not Mine)

divorceAfter getting to know more and more ex-christians, not just ex-pastor but ex-christians in general, I see this surprising trend of divorce.  What seems to happen is that a person deconverts, stress enters into the relationship, and then a divorce happens.  Now marriages are a hard and complicated thing. Sometimes two people just can’t live together and the marriage fails.  Fine, I get that.  That doesn’t surprise me.

What surprises me is how often this is initiated by the Christian partner.

?

Atheist: So let me get this straight: Because I don’t believe in God anymore, you are going to ignore God’s multiple commandments regarding how you are required to stay married to me?

Christian: Yes.  I can’t deal with you ignoring Jesus so I’m going to ignore Jesus and find someone else who will ignore Jesus with me so that (s)he and I can follow Jesus together.

Do they have a hard time understanding the Bible when it says

Jesus: I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another woman commits adultery.

Apostle Paul: If any brother has a wife who is not a believer and she is willing to live with him, he must not divorce her.  And if a woman has a husband who is not a believer and he is willing to live with her, she must not divorce him.

Now I’m sure some of my ex-Christian/pastor friends would say

Ex-Christian: You know John, it’s actually a lot more complicated than that.  It’s probably for the best that we did get divorced.

And I’m not disagreeing with you.  Hey man, we’re not the ones who believe in God or the Bible.  But the fact that your ex-spouse left you because you didn’t believe anymore, the heck is that about?!  That is the definition of hypocrisy.  They don’t actually believe in God either.  Or at least not the Bible.  They have a god of convenience that they make up to make themselves feel better but…

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know…this is why we are atheists.

5 thoughts on “Divorce (Not Mine)

  1. Bingo!

    I’ll bet that a lot of more conservative Christians will take the side of the Christian spouse as well. While I can justify it for the individual (I love Jesus but I love ME more), it appalls me that people like Pat Robertson would probably say “leave the scumbag and find yourself another good Christian man”.

    Not to bring it up as a negative, but wasn’t that your wife’s attitude toward pre-marital sex?

    On the flip side, didn;t jesus mingle with the thieves, the prostitutes etc? Why is it that the best Christians can do is say “hate the sin, love the sinner” when it is patently obvious that they may hate the sin but sure as hell they don’t love the sinner even just a little bit.

    We are all a bit hypocritical in our lives. I hate the way meat is produced in this country and I’ll routinely pay a lot more (and I would pay even more if I was sure of their claims) for humanely kept and slaughtered meat. Yet, once a month or so I’ll pop by In ‘n out for a burger and fries. I also wear leather shoes and coats. I feel bad about it and if I had an option to pay more to get the same things I’d go for it in a minute.

    On the other hand, I am not claiming that I am following the will of the friggin creator of the whole universe either and most certainly I don;t expect to have anyone else follow my lead or I’ll plunge them in a lake of fire and laugh from my Luxury suite upstairs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

