A Conversation Between a Former Pastor and Seminary Students

drew-interview-1Drew Bekius is a former Evangelical Pastor who came out as an Atheist a few years ago.  He went back to his seminary to be interviewed by students curious about how a Christian pastor should counsel an atheist.  The resulting video is simply the best explanation of what it means to be an atheist, at least in a way that a conservative Christian could understand.  If you want Christians to understand you, you know, those that keep “praying for you” and the Christians who just don’t seem to understand you; send them this video.  But you should also read the blog.  Check out this little gem:

During the interview, I found one moment more striking than any other. And it wasn’t anything I had said. After being asked about the influences that led to my atheism, my interviewer turned his camera off and responded in a moment of disbelief:

“Wow, this disproves everything we normally believe about atheism.”

Yes. Yes, it does, my friend. Yes, it most certainly does…

Check it out, it’s worth your time.

Video Interview: A Seminary Project on Atheism

9 thoughts on “A Conversation Between a Former Pastor and Seminary Students

  1. This was an excellent interview. I’m always amazed how similar our stories of deconversion are and ultimately our outlook on life. Like Drew, my decision to leave Christianity has nothing to do with any influence from atheists. In fact, I’d never met one nor had read any atheists books during my deconversion period. Thanks for bringing this interview to our attention. It was uplifting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s funny to hear the word “uplifting” outside the Christian context. I sent this video to my old roomie. He told me he watched it, but I’m still wait to hear a response from him.

      Like

      • John, I guess it can seem strange to hear the word uplifting because deconversion is no picnic, and being the most hated, distrusted minority group in the U.S. isn’t either. Drew didn’t go into detail about his deconversion experience, or the fallout which for most of us who were truly devout, was agonizing. However, from that interview, I could see in Drew what I see in myself — a liberty, an aliveness and an appreciation for life that I never felt as a Christian. I was never comfortable in my own skin as a Christian. I was never comfortable with being human, primarily because it was reinforced over and over that my flesh, my body, was always warring with the “spirit”. Like I told a blogging friend of mine just the other day in email, one can never truly appreciate what freedom is unless they’ve been enslaved.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll post my youtube comment here as well.

    Interesting video, thanks for sharing. As an atheist it’s encouraging to see people grow – or perhaps you could say learn – out of their faith. The human capacity to observe is one thing that greatly supports this phenomenon, considering the fact that whether we like it or not, we cannot stop observing our environment. And thus it seems logical to say, that the more logical thinking is emphasized and encouraged in societies, the more likely it is that more people cannot help but lose their faith.

    To many the loss of faith will be painful and very difficult as they will face tremendous psychological violence from their social circles and social problems like getting a job, but i’m very glad to see groups like The Clergy Project helping to reduce the impact of those problems and helping people in their transition.

    However, i suggest that in the future – if it’s in any way humanly possible – request that each initial answer to a question is discussed and explored by attempting to falsify the contents of the answer. I’m saying this because at first viewing of this video it seems that some of the answers you gave contained fallacies or were otherwise quite insufficient. If you want quotations and timeframes of such occurences, i’m willing to produce documentation. And seeing as based on this section: http://clergyproject.org/clergy-project-leadership/ of TCP page you seem to be the communications committee chair, so it is probable that your communication will face extra scrutiny and thus the importance of the quality and content of your communication cannot be emphasized enough.

    Like

  3. I am aware that you’re not Drew, seeing as it can be determined with relatively high confidence from known facts. I just thought that my comment might be of use in here as well, just in case Drew doesn’t read the comments on that video.

    Like

Leave a Reply

